Friend #1

So, I’m finally kicking off my long-overdue series on friends that mean a lot to me. After a rather patronising listicle last year, this year, I decided to write a post for each of them.

Tanaya Jagtiani, probably 55.

Tanaya and I met each other through my ex. It’s funny how we didn’t know of each other before we started talking- but now, we’re really good friends.

We’ve never hung out- not in much in college and never outside. But that has never been a factor in our relationship- we’ve always been there for each other.

She’s a year elder, only because she chose to forgo a year of her high school for an exchange programme in Italy. Needless to say, she’s fluent in Italian, along with English. Her Hindi is, um, accented, but she’s pretty good at that too.

She’s a really honest person in all her facets- be it her attitude towards others, or just her own life. She (seemingly, though I might be completely wrong here) doesn’t have too many friends. However, the ones that she does have, love and care for her endlessly.

Currently, she’s making everyone (and herself) proud by spending a semester in London. Fuck, how do you even do that? I don’t know. All I know is that she deserved it- the opportunity and the break from the shitstorm here.

Of late though, we haven’t been in touch. I guess it’s owing to both of our lives, plus the time difference. Either way, I’m sure we’ll figure it out.

I’m proud to say that I’m Tanaya’s friend. I completely trust her with my life; I’d like to believe that she’d at least trust me with her Starbucks order. If not, then I guess I’ll try better.

Thank you, TanTan. For everything ❤

Leave a Reply

