Dear beloved.

For the past six months

You have been the light

that lit my cigarette,

The rock

on which I stubbed my toe,

The pump

that I used to fill my lungs

With just that much life

That revived a huffing asthmatic.

For the past six months

We have been through joy

Through pain, through adulation

Through pleasure; through a million bottles of cheap whiskey

Through various rooms and beds

Through music, that binds us together

Alas, today

We no longer have the luxury 

Of joy

Of pain, of adulation

Of pleasure, of another million bottles of cheap whiskey

Of all those rooms and beds

Of music, that will always remind of you

Of us.


I took a decision today which I’m sure I’ll regret. I hope wherever you are, you’re happy.

 

Leave a Reply

