All I want for my birthday is…

Birthdays have always been very special for me. I don’t know why some people don’t like it- for me, it’s an opportunity to grow older; to inch closer to using my real ID card to gain entry into clubs.

giphy

Birthdays also give you a very convenient excuse to act pricey and eat cake. I’ll admit, I found it enthralling in school, but the fervour has died down of late. Even so, the fact that I’ll be finishing my teenage years hasn’t really sunk in yet.

Is there a check-list for me to go through before the fateful day?

Another exciting part of birthdays are gifts. And I love gifts! I mean, the whole point of having your close ones giving you things that you thought you’d cherish. I’ve always loved them, and really appreciated the effort put behind them. For me, it isn’t so much about the material gift itself, than it is about the memories attached to it, and the person who gifted it.

But I also know how stressful it can be to find an appropriate gift for someone. To that end, I’m going to list down some of the things that are quite dear to me. Friends, if you’re reading this, *nudge nudge*.

•NBA

•Coldplay

•WWE (it’s still real to me, dammit)

•The Wire

•Alcohol (I’ll always appreciate good beer/whiskey/scotch)

•McDonald’s

•New phone (yes mom, that one)

•Your time. In the form of attending my party, having a decent conversation with me (either in person or over letters, because I think it’s time we revive those handwritten gems), sharing anything about you, long walks or rides, gym sessions- just anything that will help me better my relationship with you even in the tiniest way.

tenor
At the end of the day, I just hope I’m as happy as Micheal Scott.

Yep, that’s pretty much it. Happy birthday to me?

Leave a Reply

